Magic Online Banking

TheBANK Awards Community Scholarships

Four high school seniors from throughout the Metro East were recently selected to receive college scholarships through TheBANK of Edwardsville’s Community Scholarship Program. Each will receive $2,000 per year for four years of education.

Brooke Lunn from Edwardsville High School, Kari Lohr from Marquette Catholic High School, Thomas Boyer from Collinsville High School and Meghan Gingrich from Belleville East High School, were chosen as the 2015 scholarship recipients. The recipients were selected from a large group of applicants based on their positive leadership and character in both academic achievements and community activities.

Community Scholarship

“TheBANK of Edwardsville established this scholarship program 15 years ago as a commitment to the education of our future leaders,” said Kevin Powers, President and CEO of TheBANK of Edwardsville. “We are very proud of the accomplishments of the students who were selected from this year’s impressive pool of applicants, and we look forward to watching them progress through college and enter the workforce. Congratulations to the students for all of their achievements thus far.

TheBANK introduced its Community Scholarship Program in August of 2000, pledging $1.3 million toward scholarships to be awarded over 30 years to graduating seniors of local high schools. The Greater Edwardsville Area Community Foundation, which is governed by a board of local residents, administers the program with a selection committee which interviews the finalists and selects the final scholarship recipients.

 As in years past, the selection committee evaluated the applicants on academic achievements, leadership and character exhibited both at school and in extracurricular activities. Selection criteria also included leadership in community activities as well as the positive impact the students have had on others.

 This year’s scholarship recipients were:

  • Brooke Lunn, Edwardsville High School: Brooke will attend Saint Louis University, where she plans to study Healthcare Management/Health Law. She is the daughter of Dan and Marcy Lunn;
  • Kari Lohr, Marquette Catholic High School: Kari will attend the University of South Florida, where she plans to study Cell and Molecular Biology.  She is the daughter of  Terry and Shelly Lohr;
  • Thomas Boyer, Collinsville High School: Thomas will attend Northwestern University, where he plans to study Biology with an emphasis on Genetics.  He is the son of Lester Boyer and Elizabeth Sturman; and
  • Meghan Gingrich, Belleville East High School: Meghan will attend Illinois State University, where she plans to study Nursing.  She is the daughter of John and Paula Gingrich.

TheBANK’s Community Scholarship Program was created as part of the American Bankers Association’s “Banks of Promise” effort, which is the banking industry’s pledge toward Colin Powell’s “America’s Promise – Alliance for Youth.” TheBANK has committed to America’s Promise by partnering with not-for-profit organizations, athletes, mayors, governors, teachers, college professors and others to benefit youth through a variety of sponsorships and donations.